This is a weird return

Because I have nothing to talk about. My internet connection at home, once sparkly, has now revealed its true self as a beacon of instability, so much that I can’t stream games anymore.

My solution? Radio. It’s amazing how much radio is making me rediscover respect for the spoken word. I’ve been doing live broadcasts for my school’s soccer teams for almost two years now, and there’s nothing harder (in terms of driving past the brain/mouth barrier) or more rewarding (when the words come out and they sound right). So what has prevented me from writing for so long?

It all comes down to this. However brilliant radio is, it’s still cramping my blogging style. 1) It’s impossible to write About That Game segments without visuals. 1a) There’s no visual pleasure, and thus no written pleasure. 1b) There’s no visual evidence, and thus no written evidence.

In a strange series of mind shifts, I’m starting to re-evaluate my strengths as an amateur commentator of sports. I depend too much on the ability to edit, to consider which thoughts are worth jotting down and which can be thrown to the wind. I’ve struggled at times when broadcasting simply because the right words don’t come to mind, or else I get wild and reactionary toward what’s going on in the game and can’t concentrate on speaking at all.

(…)

All that being said, I’ll be back with a hockey post sometime in the future. Hockey has sort of taken over my life recently, in a sort of primal way that makes me feel like a little kid again. Half of the joy I get from sports is the endless feelings of discovery and awe, and in the past couple of weeks, nothing has taken my breath away quite like hockey.

Take this Toews goal and chew on it for awhile:

1 Comment

Filed under the up-and-coming hockey tag, tube-thumping

One response to “This is a weird return

  1. Jin

    Does this mean there would be fewer football posts now? ): To be honest, I really missed reading your match reports / opinions on various news articles back at of_doom.

Leave a comment